Hello world!  All of you fresh faced individuals just hanging on the edge of your seat waiting for me to write this wonderful intro.  A blog that will keep you coming back for more (insert coke addict reference here).  Who knows, maybe I’ll be the next internet sensation?  Or at least that’s how I imagine it.

Basically I’ve come to the realization that I’m in the prime of my life.  I’m a young(er) 20-something girl/woman (feeling very “Britney Spears – not a girl, not yet a woman” ), living in an urban city with a professional job.  I have witty friends whom I occasionally share a glass of wine with, a supportive family, a small but homey apartment in the heart of a downtown area, and dreams upon dreams of one day doing… All sorts of things!  In other words, I’ve decided to somewhat track my life by writing this blog.

wine - cheers!

I’m going to start my first post by admitting a guilty pleasure/want: I love reading US Weekly’s “25 Things You Didn’t Know About Me” exclusive celebrity interview.

Exclusive: 25 Things You Didn’t Know About Kara Hensley

1. Tomatoes = Love

2. Sometimes I put on my own living room dance routine to *nsync songs.

3. There is nothing too drastic that I won’t do to escape from a bee, including (yes, these are real life events) jumping out of a moving car, almost wrecking my car while driving, and running in backwards from my balcony and tripping over my bike (which is conveniently in my living room).

4. My milkshake brings all the boys to the yard, but I don’t actually have a yard – therefore, I have no boys.

5. The smell of an egg mcmuffin gags me.  Seriously, if you’re eating one, get away.

6. I strongly believe if I did a coke vs. pepsi test, I would know which one is which.  HURRY QUIZ ME!

7. I’ve never seen classic movies like “Rocky,” “A Christmas Story,” “Home Alone,” “Star Wars,” “The Godfather,” I’m sure the list goes on…

8. But did I mention my love for “Mean Girls”?!

mean girls

9. I eat vegetarian meals a lot, but once I “try” to actually eat vegetarian I crave alllllllllll the meat.  Yes, I’ll have the 36 oz steak, medium.  Thank you.

10. Some days I’m quite stylish. The kind of stylish that Glamour magazine will take a candid photo of you for their “Do” page.  Other days, I should be on What Not to Wear (I’m talking to you gauchos).

11. I categorize myself as a “super taster.”  What is that you say?   In other words, I don’t like most condiments, almost anything creamy, black coffee, vinegar, pickles, or raw onions.

12. According to my mom, “I talk too fast with a baby voice” for Siri to understand me.

13. I equate a trip to Target like a trip to the land of Oz.  When you first walk in, everything is all bright and colorful.  You never know what you’re going to find around the corner!  Oh electric yellow shoes!  Then you follow the yellow brick road around the store, picking up “friends” along the way, only to discover the scary Oz at the check out counter (AKA my bill).  After I pay and leave, I go home to enjoy my purchases and think fondly of the “friends” I made (and whatever financial lessons I learned).

target

14. I’m not a beer drinker.  Wine?  Hell yes.  Vodka?  Bring it on.  Draft beer?  Bleh.

15. I blame my apartment messes on the troll that lives under my bed.  He also once turned my dishwasher on while I was sitting on the couch.  And he enjoys stealing my socks (especially my favorite pair with mustaches on them).

16. I pretend to like to run.  Or maybe I do like to run?  Honestly, I can’t decide if I like to run but I keep pushing myself to do it and signing up for 5ks.

17. I sign all my cards Love, Kara and Sparkle (Sparkle is my 15 year old Shih Tzu).

Sparkle - Shih Tzu

18. When I share certain food items (usually that I really love) with a group of people, I kind of feel a survival instinct kick in where I have to eat really fast in order to eat as many of the cheese sticks, chips, etc. as I can.  This might also equate to my only child upbringing.

19. I hate camping.  It probably doesn’t help that both camping trips I’ve been on have been a disaster.  Maybe if I had a good experience I’d have a different outlook, but for now I’d rather stay in my bug-free apartment with a chilled glass of wine.

I hata camping

20. My ideal life would be to write novels in an oceanfront café, eating fresh seafood all day.  One can dream right?

21. As I write this, I get hungrier and hungrier.  Now I can’t think of anything except cheese sticks.

22. Magazine-in-the-mail-day is one of my favorite days 🙂

23. I love 80s pop music… Probably a little too much.  But who doesn’t love a little Safety Dance?

24. I pretend like I’m invincible sometimes.  Maybe this is why I’ve never broken a bone?

25. I used to be able to play “Expert” level on Guitar Hero… Used to.

FYI – 25 things about yourself is way harder than I expected (and I love to talk about myself).

